Free online learning platform SWAYAM offers more than 1600 courses; check how to enrol

SAYAM free online courses
SWAYAM free online courses

The Narendra Modi-led NDA government has taken a new initiative called ‘Study Webs of Active Learning for Young Aspiring Minds’ (SWAYAM). It provides an integrated online learning platform.  SWAYAM  provides Massive Open Online Courses (MOOCs) , using Information and Communication Technology (ICT), covering higher education subjects and skill sector courses.

At least 15 lakh untrained teachers are being trained under DElEd programme of NIOS, delivered through SWAYAM. Annual Refresher Programme in Teaching (ARPIT), an initiative launched by the government for online professional development of 15 lakh higher education faculty through MOOCs platform of SWAYAM.

More than 39 lakh students have been enrolled in more than 1600+ MOOCs courses that have been run through SWAYAM and 60,000 learners have completed MOOCs courses. The credit transfer facility of up to 20 perecent has been enabled in accordance with the UGC/AICTE- ‘Credit Framework for online learning courses through SWAYAM Regulation 2016’.  MHRD is working on to align the courses on the SWAYAM portal with universities the curriculum.

Through SWAYAM,  a Faculty Development Programmes (FDP) is also being developed. According to the MHRD statement, nearly 92 universities have agreed to accept credit transfer for courses offered via SWAYAM. In total 1082 courses were offered under SWAYAM during the current academic year. The number of users registered for various courses under SWAYAM are 25,57,118 and during the current academic year 4,36,431 people registered. The users who registered for this platform include students, teachers, professionals, sr. citizens, housewives etc.

The students who want to enrol  for free online courses on SWAYAM platform may visit its official website So far, 92 universities have come forward in accepting credit transfer for courses done through SWAYAM online learning Platform.

Check here annual programmes for teachers:

Check here for D.ElED courses:

The MHRD said in a statement that all the courses prepared by the best teachers in the country and are available, free of cost. More than 1,000 faculty and teachers from across the country have participated in preparing these courses.

“In order to ensure best quality content are produced and delivered, 9 National Coordinators have been appointed: They are, University Grants Commission (UGC) for Post-Graduation Education, Consortium for Education Communication (CEC) for Under-Graduate Education, NPTEL Consortium of 7 Indian Institutes of Technologies & Indian Institute of Science for Engineering, National Council for Education Research & Training (NCERT) & National Institute for Open Schooling (NIOS) for School Education, Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU)for out of the School Students, Indian Institute of Management (IIM) Bangalore for Management Studies , National Institute for Technical Teachers’ Training ( NITTTR) for teachers training program and All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) for ARPIT Courses (Annual Refresher Programme in Teaching), Self-paced & Courses by Foreign Universities,” the statement said.

SWAYAM Online courses were launched with the objective to reduce the digital divide. Since the MOOCs is integrated with conventional education, it may prove to be a game changer in the education sector.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.