UGC to grant autonomy to 76 universities and colleges; here are details


The University Grants Commission (UGC) has informed that it has decided to grant Autonomy to 76 Educational Institutions including 62 Universities (5 Central Universities, 21 State Universities, 34 Deemed to be Universities and 2 Private Universities) and 14 Colleges across the Country. These Universities/Institutions have been selected on the basis of National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) ratings. The Institutions having a NAAC score of 3.5 and above, have been placed in Category I, the Institutions having a NAAC score of 3.26 to 3.5 have been placed in Category II and the remaining are placed in Category III.

These educational institutes include Jawaharlal Nehru University Delhi, University of Hyderabad, Banaras Hindu University Varanasi, and Aligarh Muslim University in Aligarh.

Granting autonomy to institutions considering their applications is a continuous process. This information was given by the Minister of State (HRD), Satya Pal Singh today in a written reply to a Rajya Sabha question.

Central Universities which will be given autonomy:

State universities which will be given autonomy:

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.