What is PISA and how it improves students’ learning levels? Here are details

PISA India education assessment
PISA, India education global ranking

India has signed an agreement with OECD to participate in the Programme for International Students Assessment (PISA) to be held in 2021. Union HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar recently said that the participation of India in PISA will enhance the quality of education in the country and improve learning levels of children. The next round of PISA is going to be held in India.

What is PISA?

The Programme for International Students Assessment (PISA) is a global survey conducted in every three years to evaluate the education system worldwide. The assessment is done by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) to test the skills and knowledge of 15-year-old students. PISA allows benchmarking performance of a country’s education system against a wide range of countries. Under the PISA benchmarking programme, students are assessed in terms of their reading, mathematical, science and collaborative problem-solving abilities.

Test items are provided to the students in local context and language, pilot tested and validated before being used for the test. According to a government statement, OECD has agreed to contextualize the questions for Indian students.

India’s participation in PISA: How it works

Navodaya Vidyalaya Samiti (NVS), Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS), and schools in the UT of Chandigarh will participate in the assessment programme to be held in 2021 in India.

PISA covers samples of 15-year-old students representing all forms of schooling — public, private, and private aided.

PISA measures the extent key competencies that are essential for full participation in modern societies acquired by the students.

This assessment would give recognition and acceptability of the Indian students across the globe.

Since the first round of testing in 2000, over 80 countries, including 44 middle-income ones, have taken part in the assessment process. Countries include Brazil, China and countries from South-East Asia such as Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, and Vietnam are signatories of this assessment programme conducted by OECD.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.